Ba Gua Philosophy

Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3

Most people are familiar with this symbol as a representation of Taiji where the darker side represents yin and the lighter side represents yang. This is called the Taiji symbol; however, yang and yin separately are expressed as a broken line and solid line respectively.


Si Xiang, or the four movements, explains the movement and transformation of yin to yang and yang to yin. The si xiang are illustrated by four diagrams. Each movement is illustrated by a series of two lines.

The four movements are:

1 tai yang, or great yang, and is maximal yang;


2 xiao yang, little yang, which is yang entering yin;


3 tai yin, great yin, is maximal yin;


4 xiao yin, little yin, is yin entering yang.


An example to illustrate the four movements from nature is:
tai yin - midnight, maximal yin
xiao yang - dawn, yang entering yin
tai yang - midday, maximal yang
xiao yin - dusk, yin entering yang